Stay on Crisp if a shared inbox for a team is the point: the free plan gives two seats and unlimited conversations, paid plans add seats per workspace, and the integrations are broad. Switch to Chatonbo if you want the AI to do the answering. On Crisp, AI is metered in credits: the $45/mo Mini plan includes $5 of credits, which Crisp says is around 90 automated conversations. On Chatonbo, AI conversations are the plan: 5,000 for $19/mo, flat, with a free plan to start.
Verdict: Chatonbo is the better fit for a website that wants the AI to do the answering at a flat price; Crisp is the better fit for a team that wants a shared inbox with seats, broad integrations and unlimited human conversations, with AI metered in credits on top.
| At a glance | Chatonbo | Crisp |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price with AI answers | $19/mo flat (Pro: 5,000 AI chats a month) | Mini $45/mo with $5 of AI credits, around 90 automated conversations |
| Price at about 5,000 chats a month | $19/mo, same flat price (Business $59/mo for 10,000) | Above the Plus plan ($295/mo, around 1,350 AI conversations); see the vendor site |
| AI answers from your own content | Yes. Drafted from your website in about 2 minutes, answers from your pages, documents and catalog | Yes, an autonomous AI agent with custom knowledge training, metered in credits |
| Shopify cart and order lookup | Yes. Shopify app with product cards, add to cart and order lookup, included in paid plans | Shopify integration listed on the free plan; cart and order lookup not stated |
| Languages | 50+ languages, auto-detected from what the visitor writes | Multilingual AI listed as a premium feature; count not stated |
| Install time | Median 6 minutes from signup to live; one script tag or the app; white-glove install included | Script tag, then the inbox for your team |
| Free plan | Yes. 1 assistant, 250 chats a month | Yes. 2 seats, unlimited conversations, no AI credits |
Competitor prices as listed on the vendor's own pricing page or app listing, checked September 2026, and subject to change. Chatonbo prices as of October 2026. Full Chatonbo plans: chatonbo.com/pricing.
Crisp is a shared inbox first. As listed on crisp.chat/en/pricing on September 11, 2026, it is priced per workspace: Free at $0 with 2 seats, Mini at $45/mo with 4 seats, Essentials at $95/mo with 10 seats, Plus at $295/mo with 20 or more, and $10/mo for each extra agent. Conversations are unlimited, even on Free.
AI is a separate meter. The Free plan includes $0 of AI credits; Mini includes $5 (Crisp states around 90 automated conversations), Essentials $25 (around 450) and Plus $75 (around 1,350). If your goal is a bot that answers most visitors on its own, the credits run out long before the seats do.
Chatonbo flips the priorities: the assistant is drafted from your website in about 2 minutes, answers 5,000 conversations a month on the $19 Pro plan, and hands off to a person when needed. It is a lighter inbox than Crisp and a much larger AI allowance.
Every Chatonbo plan is covered by a written Fair Billing Guarantee that your bill will not change because you had a good month.
| Chatonbo | Crisp | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Flat monthly: Free, Pro $19/mo, Business $59/mo | Per workspace: Free $0, Mini $45/mo, Essentials $95/mo, Plus $295/mo, Enterprise custom* |
| Per-seat or per-resolution fees | None. No per-seat, per-ticket or per-resolution fees | Seats included per plan (2, 4, 10, 20+), then $10/mo per extra agent; AI billed as credits* |
| AI answers from your own site content | Yes, drafted from your website URL, documents and product catalog | Custom AI knowledge training is a premium AI feature; credits included: $0 Free, $5 Mini (around 90 automated conversations), $25 Essentials (around 450), $75 Plus (around 1,350)* |
| Shopify add-to-cart in chat | Yes, product cards with pictures and add-to-cart inside the chat (official Shopify app) | Shopify integration listed; add-to-cart in chat not listed on the pricing page* |
| Order tracking | Yes, shoppers get order status in the chat (Shopify app) | Not listed on the pricing page |
| Languages | 50+ languages | Multilingual AI listed as a premium AI feature* |
| Setup time | About 2 minutes from a website URL | Widget install plus inbox and AI configuration |
| Free plan | Yes, plus a 30-day free trial on paid plans | Yes: 2 seats, unlimited conversations, no AI credits* |
*Based on crisp.chat/en/pricing as viewed on September 11, 2026. Crisp pricing may change; check crisp.chat for current terms.
Chatonbo Pro includes 5,000 AI conversations for $19/mo and Business includes 10,000 for $59/mo. Crisp Mini at $45/mo includes $5 of AI credits, which Crisp describes as around 90 automated conversations.
Chatonbo has a free plan and paid plans start at $19/mo. Crisp starts paid plans at $45/mo, and AI credits are the smallest part of the cheaper tiers.
With the official Shopify app the assistant shows product cards with pictures, adds items to the cart inside the chat and tracks orders. One US massage chair store saw $107,725 in orders over seven weeks from shoppers who talked to the assistant first.
Paste your website and Chatonbo drafts a brand-aware assistant. Official Shopify and Wix apps, a WordPress/WooCommerce plugin, or one script tag anywhere, in 50+ languages.
We would rather you pick the right tool than sign up and leave. Two honest cases where Crisp is the better fit.
Crisp is built around a multi-seat inbox with unlimited conversations, apps and a large integration catalog. If several people answer chats and you want those tools, Crisp is the more complete inbox; Chatonbo keeps its inbox simple and focuses on the AI.
Crisp Free gives two seats and unlimited conversations at no cost. If a person is always available and you do not need the AI to answer, that free plan may be all you need.
Enter your website URL. Chatonbo reads your pages and drafts the assistant in about 2 minutes. Add your help articles as documents if they live outside the site.
Use the official Shopify or Wix app, the WordPress/WooCommerce plugin, or one script tag, then remove the Crisp widget from the same pages so visitors see one chat bubble.
Turn on human handoff so conversations that need a person reach your team. Paid plans come with a 30-day free trial, so you can compare answer quality on real traffic before cancelling Crisp.
Chatonbo is the better fit for a website that wants the AI to do the answering at a flat price; Crisp is the better fit for a team that wants a shared inbox with seats, broad integrations and unlimited human conversations, with AI metered in credits on top.
Crisp is priced per workspace: Free with 2 seats and no AI credits, Mini $45/mo with $5 of AI credits (around 90 automated conversations), Essentials $95/mo with $25 of credits (around 450), Plus $295/mo with $75 of credits (around 1,350), extra agents $10/mo each. Chatonbo is $19/mo flat for 5,000 AI conversations (Pro) or $59/mo for 10,000 (Business), with a free plan of 250 chats a month.
In credits. As of September 2026, crisp.chat lists $0 of AI credits on Free, $5 on Mini ($45/mo, around 90 automated conversations), $25 on Essentials ($95/mo, around 450) and $75 on Plus ($295/mo, around 1,350). Chatonbo includes 5,000 AI conversations on the $19/mo Pro plan and 10,000 on the $59/mo Business plan.
For an AI-first setup, yes: Chatonbo starts free, then $19/mo flat with AI included. Crisp starts paid plans at $45/mo per workspace with $10/mo per extra agent and metered AI credits. For a large human team using little AI, Crisp can be the better value.
Yes, a simple one: conversations, human handoff and lead capture. It is not a full shared inbox with the depth Crisp offers. If the inbox is your main tool, stay on Crisp.
Yes. Chatonbo drafts the assistant from your website URL, documents and, on Shopify, your product catalog, and keeps learning as content changes. Crisp lists custom AI knowledge training among its premium AI features.
About 2 minutes to draft the assistant from your website, plus installing the app or script tag and removing the Crisp widget. There is nothing to export because Chatonbo learns from the source pages.
The Fair Billing Guarantee
No credits, no per-resolution fees, no forced upgrades. Your bot never goes silent, you can cancel in one click, and your first charge is covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee.
See all six promises